A young male double yellow scarlet macaw. Not yet fledged and still playing on the floor with baby parrot toys.
Snickers his first day home with his chosen one.

When you live with a parrot that can’t find a use for you.

Kathy LaFollett

--

Two humans look into each other’s eyes and know this conversation should have happened before they met the bird.

“He’s awesome. I can’t get him off me.” Cali grinned cradling a young red parrot who’s spread his wings hug wide while using his talons to latch onto the front of a T-shirt to lay his head into Cali’s neck. That’s parrot body language for mine.

Snickers infiltrated our family after spending an afternoon splattered against Cali’s chest. I was baggage. I didn’t know it, yet. I sat in a visitors chair holding Snickers. Handing Snickers to me was a surprise to Snickers. He asked for no such thing.

“He is adorable.” I am smitten. I stroke Snickers’ head feathers smooth. A caveat screams inside my skull; Yeah, but he’s a male scarlet, they are more than a handful. They are two handsful!

“Should we? We have the room. Butters sure could use a friend.”

Snickers nuzzles into my neck, but he’s not with me, he’s got his attention on Cali. He needed that angle to get a bead on his chosen one. I feel that slight mental distance. “Well, he’s a male, and a scarlet. Are we ready for all that?”

We debate the fine points of bringing home a new member to our parrot lifestyle. We laugh while waiting for one of us to say no…

--

--